Hello, lovelies

Sorry my posts have been few and far between! Life has been hectic. Well, sort of. 

My current weight loss number is like, 31, I think. I’m losing track! But I’m feeling great. All of my favorite clothes are too big for me now and while it’s sad, it’s also incredible. 

Image

For those of you who are new, I’m doing Weight Watchers, but very loosely. I’m not counting points or anything. I was in the beginning but as my mom loves to say, ain’t nobody got time for that. I’ve just been eating healthier and allowing myself to cheat at least once a week. That’s important because it’s so easy to get burned out on a ‘diet’ by not allowing yourself to eat the foods you love. I also eat everything a lot slower. It sounds silly, but I enjoy my food a lot more that way and once I’m done, I feel satisfied. Weight Watchers makes these tiny chocolate brownies, and they’re incredible. I’m a huge chocolate fan but I’d take these things over a snickers, milky way or 3 musketeers any day. They’re so rich and soft. The downside: they’re ridiculously small. They’re bite sized but I make them last for an hour. Sounds crazy, but when you’ve become so accustomed to eating large amounts for long periods of time, small portions is hard. You have to find what works for you. And for me, this works. I can still have chocolate, and that’s important to me. 

Image

I’ve also become a pro at seasoning foods, like chicken and steak. If you’re not eating as much, it helps that what you’re eating tastes amazing. When we think of diet food, we think bland and tasteless. But it doesn’t have to be.

In other news, I leave for my Florida vacation two weeks from today!! I couldn’t be more excited. That’s how I’m going to make it through work the next two weeks. Speaking of work, a customer made me cry at my register a few days ago. I’m not going to go into details but the moral of the story is: be nice to people who are serving you. Don’t assume you’re any better than them because they’re working a crappy job. They know their job is crappy and they probably hate it and are trying desperately to find something better but for now, they’re doing their best to please you and be as polite as possible (well, most of them). So as Wil Wheaton would say, don’t be a dick. You may be mad about having to wait in line for 10 minutes, but at least you get to leave once you’re done with your purchases. We’re stuck there for hours. 

I got off on a tangent, oops. I’m so excited for Florida. I bought three bathing suits, a one piece and two bikinis. And I’ve even considered wearing the bikinis in public (I bought them for tanning purposes in my back yard). While I’m working diligently to lose weight and get healthy, I’m also a huge fan of body acceptance and positivity. I think we should all love the way we look and should, of course, strive to be healthy, but even if you are overweight or obese you should still love the way you look and be confident and happy. Because we only get one body, we shouldn’t let society dictate how that body should look. If you want to change your body to look a certain way, that’s great if it makes you happy. But that could be a long journey, so on the way, work on being happy the way you are. The way I look now is nowhere near what I want to look like. I have a lot of weight still to lose before I’m done. But that doesn’t mean that I don’t wake up in the morning, look in the mirror and just take in how beautiful I am. It’s not being conceited, it’s having confidence. And if you have that, it will follow you throughout the day and other people will notice it. When I was at my heaviest, I had no problem dating and had guys telling me they liked me all the time. It wasn’t because I was a beauty queen. It was because of my confidence. 

If you don’t feel beautiful, dress like you do. Don’t cover yourself up. Don’t be afraid to wear dresses or shorts. Put on some lipstick. When you’re shopping for clothes, don’t skip over something because you love it, but think it won’t look good on you. As the cliche goes, fake it til you make it. When I was in 8th grade, I got picked on constantly and was so insecure that I wore the same baggy sweatshirt every single day. I hated the way I looked, and it showed in my outfit choices. At some point, I decided that I could dress in cute clothes, even if I didn’t think I was cute in them. So I did. And eventually, the clothes made me feel cute. I developed confidence. Not that this is a fool-proof plan that will work for everyone, but it worked for me. That’s pretty much the theme of What Not to Wear. Don’t wear clothes to hide and blend into the background. Be brave and bold and let yourself be seen. Because you’re adorable. You don’t need boys or girls or anyone to agree with that statement, as long as you believe it. Other people will agree with that statement, but you don’t need them to. I’m not losing weight so I can get a boyfriend or become a model or to fit in; I’m doing it for me, because I know how I want to look. 

Ok I’m done being preachy. Hope you guys are having a good week! 

