Ahead of the Game

Hey guys! Just dropping in to give you an update on how Camp NaNoWritMo (National Novel Writing Month) is going. 

Image

As you can see by this lovely bar graph, I’m ahead of the game! I’m on page 28, 7434 words of my play and I’m not even finished for the night. It may not be any good, but this is the first time in a long time that I’ve fallen in love with something that I’m writing to the point where, when I’m at work or out somewhere, all I can think about is getting home to continue writing. It doesn’t matter if it’s good, at this point, because it means so much to me. It’s almost like it’s writing itself.

I had a Fiction Writing professor who always said that when you’re writing, it should be like walking a really big dog that’s running, pulling you along, almost walking you instead of the other way around. Sometimes, writing feels like walking a fat, slow dog that I have to drag down the sidewalk just to make any kind of progress. That’s when I know that my heart’s not in it. But with this story, it’s unfolding and building on itself and becoming much different than what I originally intended. It’s got a mind of its own and I’m just helping it onto the paper. The direction it’s taking is surprising me, and when your story beings to surprise you, you’re on the right track. 

The only thing I need to work on is pacing. I’m 3 scenes/28 pages in and it’s still the same day. The play is meant to last over the course of two months. We’ll see how that goes. Anyone else doing Camp NaNoWriMo? How’s it going for you?

Leave a Reply

