Writing Crisis

I’m having a serious writing crisis right now. I’m working on a play for Camp NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) and I’ve got 20 pages already, 5000 words. But the last scene I wrote doesn’t fit. I was really into it as I was writing but it was more of a wish fulfillment scene rather than what should have happened at that moment. It’s something that needs to happen later on in the play. It was too soon and too fluffy/gooey/mushy/grossly adorable. It was like a beautiful moment in a Destiel fanfic. But that’s not what I’m writing. It changes the tone of the entire play and I know that I need to get rid of it and start the scene over. But I’m so bad at getting rid of things in my writing, especially when I really enjoyed writing it. 

Ugh. I’m just upset. It’s only 3 pages so it’s not like starting over from scratch, but it’s still going to be hard. I’ve identified the exact moment I went wrong and why it happened so I have to change a plot point so that what happened in this scene doesn’t happen until later. I know I need to let someone read what I have so far but I’m scared. I hate letting people read my writing. And that’s not what NaNoWriMo is about, it’s about getting it all down quickly and going back to revise later. But if I don’t fix this now, it’ll change the whole rest of the story. 

This post is mostly just me convincing myself that this is what needs to be done. 

Anyone else participating in Camp NaNoWriMo? Any advice? Anything you’re struggling with? 

2 thoughts on “Writing Crisis

  1. I know the feeling 😦 Scrapping scenes is SO difficult.

    Here’s what I do, though I’ll admit it’s kind of cheating: If I write a scene, and I’m not happy with it / know I’ll need to delete it, I do NOT delete it right now. I just highlight it, color the font differently, hit the enter key, and start writing the scene again. Why? Because then I don’t feel like I’m backsliding in my word count, which I track daily. In my opinion, writing is writing. If I write the same scene 10 times, for a grand total of 5000 words, even though the scene I’m actually going to keep is only 500, I’ve written 5000 words. (Then when the first draft is done, I go back and delete all of the colored text). It’s just a lot easier to backtrack when I know that the not-so-stellar attempt still count for something, even if it’s only “words” towards my daily quote.

    Just a thought 🙂 Good luck with the Nanoing!!

    • That’s a good idea! I ended up doing something similar. I cut and pasted the scene into another document and saved it, just in case I want to go back and look at it later or take parts from it. And if I’m ever unsure about my decision, I can reread it to remind myself why it didn’t fit. I like the colored font idea though! I may have to use that. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

