Writing Crisis

I’m having a serious writing crisis right now. I’m working on a play for Camp NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) and I’ve got 20 pages already, 5000 words. But the last scene I wrote doesn’t fit. I was really into it as I was writing but it was more of a wish fulfillment scene rather than what should have happened at that moment. It’s something that needs to happen later on in the play. It was too soon and too fluffy/gooey/mushy/grossly adorable. It was like a beautiful moment in a Destiel fanfic. But that’s not what I’m writing. It changes the tone of the entire play and I know that I need to get rid of it and start the scene over. But I’m so bad at getting rid of things in my writing, especially when I really enjoyed writing it. 

Ugh. I’m just upset. It’s only 3 pages so it’s not like starting over from scratch, but it’s still going to be hard. I’ve identified the exact moment I went wrong and why it happened so I have to change a plot point so that what happened in this scene doesn’t happen until later. I know I need to let someone read what I have so far but I’m scared. I hate letting people read my writing. And that’s not what NaNoWriMo is about, it’s about getting it all down quickly and going back to revise later. But if I don’t fix this now, it’ll change the whole rest of the story. 

This post is mostly just me convincing myself that this is what needs to be done. 

Anyone else participating in Camp NaNoWriMo? Any advice? Anything you’re struggling with? 

