NaNoWriMo Update!

Image

It’s day 3 of Camp NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month). My goal: 30,000 words in 30 days. I have 2460 right now, and in order to keep on schedule I need to make it to 3000 before I go to bed. 

I’m writing a play, and it’s nowhere near perfect, but that’s what NaNoWriMo is all about. It’s about getting it all out there and down on paper. It can be absolutely horrible as long as you keep at it because you can always go back and revise. I look at NaNoWriMo as a way to build up perseverance and to get used to writing on a daily basis. It’s a goal with a deadline, which is exactly what I need to stay motivated during this rough patch, also known as post-grad life. 

My biggest issue with sticking to one piece of writing for a long period of time is my lack of love for the characters and the story. The good news is, after one scene and 10 pages, I can say that I am completely in love with these characters. It was almost as if they formed themselves. They’re developing nicely and I’m excited about them and I can’t wait to continue with them in this journey. That’s how I know I may actually achieve my 30,000 word goal. I’m really, really into what I’m writing. At this point, it doesn’t matter if anyone else would be interested in the story. I love it and it makes me want to write more and that’s what it’s all about. 

It helps that one of the characters is based on someone from my past, someone who had a big influence on my life. I hadn’t thought about this particular someone in a long time. It’s one of those people who changes your world and then you lose touch with them and it later feels like they were never there. But something made me think of this person and I decided that their impact on me shouldn’t be forgotten, because it meant so much to me at one point. So I’m writing this person in as a sort of tribute. A ‘thank you’ of sorts. To say hey, I haven’t forgotten about you. Maybe I’ll even let the person read it once I’m finished. But maybe not. There’s something tragically elegant about a person never knowing how important they were to someone. 

Leave a Reply

