Wedding Dresses and Underage Boys

It’s been a rough few days. I was supposed to have 4 days off work last week but got called in 2 of those days. It’s now been 5 days since I’ve had a day off, which would be normal if I had a real job, but it’s difficult when it’s a part-time job where I’m on my feet for 6-8 hours and dealing with awful customers. Almost all customers are awful when you work at a grocery store. I promise it’s true. No one likes grocery shopping so most people are unhappy while they’re there and decide to take it out on people like me and it’s not fun. So I’ve been pretty stressed, and in what little free time I’ve had, I’ve spent looking for a new job that doesn’t make me want to commit mass murder. 

When I’m stressed, I find it hard to watch real TV shows, so I’ve been watching a lot of mindless TLC reality shows, mainly, the wedding shows. I’ve caught wedding fever. I don’t want to get married anytime soon, and in fact, the thought of spending my life with one person forever is terrifying and not at all appealing. But I want the big sparkly dress and the day that’s all about me. In the process of all this wedding stuff, I fell in love with a dress. It’s “the one,” I know it. Now I just have to find the other “one,” aka, the groom. 

Image

 

It’s a Tara Keely dress by Lazaro, style number 2056. Love love love it. 

While on the subject of marriage and dating, I should tell you guys that I got asked out on a date last night. Yep. This is the second guy I’ve turned down this year. I’m feeling pretty great about myself right now, not gonna lie. Really, though, this one didn’t stand any sort of chance and I don’t know what he was thinking. He’s a new guy at work named Preston (I hate that name). We worked together for the first time last night and we were closing. Our registers were the two that are across from each other so we got to talk a bit and somehow ended up being playful with each other, which comes off as flirting. And, okay, maybe I was being a bit flirty. I can’t help it, I’m a natural. It’s what I do. I’m like Captain Jack Harkness. “I was just saying hello!” “For you, that’s flirting.” 

At one point, he was distracting me and I messed something up. When the customer left, I told him it was all his fault, and he was like, “let me make it up to you by taking you out to dinner.” It was such a smooth line and so out of nowhere. I was taken aback. I said no, because 1. he’s 18 and I’m 22, 2. he’s a junior in high school and I’m a college graduate, and 3. I’m not attracted to him. Not that I’d go out with him if I were attracted to him. But still. It was a nice little ego boost, and good for him for being bold enough to see something he wants and to go for it. If only we could all be that way. We’d probably get a lot further and do a lot more, even if it did come with an increase of embarrassment. I’ve wanted to make big bold moves so often, I’ve even planned them out, but I can never follow through with most of them. When I do, they backfire which just discourages me from future attempts. But this kid didn’t seem at all discouraged. He was completely cool about it and will probably have no trouble being bold with other girls. So, good for him. 

This week, I’m going to challenge myself to make just one bold move. I don’t know what it will be yet, but hopefully I’ll follow through with it and won’t chicken out. Maybe it’ll become a new thing where I make one bold move a week. Maybe. 

Leave a Reply

