Day 30: Names!

30. What are your top 10 favorite names? List 5 boy names and 5 girl names.

This is going to be so hard to narrow down. But I made this challenge so I think it’s ok if I break the rule and list more. I love love love names. I keep my favorites on a sticky note on my laptop. (like, Stickies on Mac, not an actual sticky note). Not for baby names or anything because I don’t think I want kids. Mainly for characters in my writing. Some of these will come with middle names.

Boys:

  • Tucker
  • Elijah
  • Nathaniel Sebastian (I like them separately, but even more together)
  • Matthew Oliver (this one has a significance to me but I won’t explain) 
  • Noah
  • Julian
  • Jay
  • Patrick
  • Benji
  • Tobias/Toby
  • Josiah 
  • Micah (I also like this for a girl) 
  • Teddy

Girls: 

  • Luciana (from my favorite Shakespeare play) 
  • Eloise/Lousie/Lou
  • Poppy
  • Wendy Lane (there’s a street near my house called Wendy Lane and I love it)
  • Lane 
  • Charlie
  • Annabelle 
  • Millie
  • Margo
  • Aubree
  • Dakota
  • Harper
  • Annette 
  • Colby
  • Penelope/Penny
  • Emeline
  • Evangeline
  • Jeanne
  • Beatrice 

And if I ever write twin characters, their names will be William and Winifred, or Will and Winnie for short, because precious. 

These aren’t even all the names on my list, I shortened it. I just adore names and choosing a name for a character is sacred for me, because it sets up their whole personality. You can’t name a character Margo and not have her be eccentric. Of course, names don’t define real people or determine their personalities, but I’m a firm believer that if you give your kid a boring name, they’re a bit more likely to turn out boring. 

Leave a Reply

