Day 20: The Best Days

20. Describe the best day of your life so far. If you can’t pinpoint just one, you can describe any really good day that stands out in your mind.

Don’t make fun of me, but seeing the Jonas Brothers in concert were two of the best days of my life. The first time was July 30, 2008 and the second was July 31, 2013, just a few months before they announced their breakup. Something about going to a concert is magical for me. And I’ve been to a ton, but these two stand out for me because of how much the Jonas Brothers mean to me. Yes, I’m 22 years old. But I fell in love with them when I was 15, which is a bit more acceptable. I’m a huge fangirl so the whole experience of being so close to these boys that I love was incredible. At the second concert, Joe actually made this big grand entrance where he walked through the crowd and was, at one point, about 10 feet from me, and I just started sobbing. There’s a really embarrassing and gross photo of me during this moment that Maggie took. I look awful, but I love it because it perfectly captures my feels in that moment. 

Most days that are super memorable to me as really great days are days I went to a concert. There’s just something so great about them, the sense of community because you’re all there for the same reason and your idols appearing on stage for the first time and singing just for you (that’s how it feels, anyway). It’s one of those events that make you buzz, vibrate with excitement and joy. It’s the kind of happiness that you can feel down to your bones. It doesn’t matter whether it’s some obscure band in a pub downtown or a huge pop sensation or a group of brothers who peaked on the Disney channel. Either way, if you’re like me, it’s going to feel like a religious experience. 

Leave a Reply

