Day 9: Destiel

Day 9. Destiel: Talk about it.

I love the Destiel. If you don’t watch Supernatural, Destiel is the ship name for Dean and Castiel. I ship it. Admittedly, not as much as I used to. Probably because I’m not on Tumblr very much anymore, and that’s where Destiel thrives. I think that Destiel has become more about the sense of community than about wanting the actual characters to be together. The characters have morphed into entirely different characters online. Fans have changed them into what they want them to be through fanfiction and fan art and roleplaying and all that fun stuff. (aka textual poaching, yay for big film terms.) So when I watch the show, I have this idea of Dean and Cas in my head and that clouds my perception of them as actual characters. When I try to get rid of all the preconceived ideas the Destiel fandom has put in my head, I realize that Dean and Cas are more of a bromance than a romance. They’re honestly like brothers. And in my heart I know that it’s wrong to place a sexuality on a person other than the one they identify with, so that makes me less apt to ship Destiel. Because Dean is straight. That’s all there is to it. He likes women. He dates women. Lots of women early on in the series. He has a lot of sex. Always with women. And Cas apparently lost his virginity (to a woman) this past season (I’m behind). Though there is evidence that Cas could harbor some feelings for Dean, it’s not cool to assume that he’s gay and in love with him. And it seems very disrespectful toward Dean (if he were a real person) to claim that he’s lying about his sexuality/doesn’t know that he’s actually gay/etc.

A real life example that bothers me is when people claim that celebrities like Darren Criss and Ryan Seacrest are gay and in the closet. Of course, there’d be nothing wrong with that if it were true. But you shouldn’t assume that because a person acts or looks a certain way, he or she is gay. Even if you don’t mean it in an offensive way. Because it makes you no different from the people who make comments like that to be offensive. You should trust that people are who they say they are until they themselves state otherwise. 

All that being said, I think it’s totally cool to create your own interpretation of the show, making it your own in fanfiction and changing peoples’ sexualities. But I don’t think that it should be cannon or that people should be angry when it doesn’t become cannon. If you love and respect Dean and Cas, love and respect their choices. And yes, I know, they’re fictional. But they’re important to a lot of people, me included. 

Image

Leave a Reply

