Day 5: The Universe

5. How do you feel about fate, coincidence, and “the power of the universe?”

I believe in the universe. I believe that there are mysterious forces at work in the universe, but I don’t have any specific beliefs about those forces because I can’t even begin to wrap my head around something so large. I don’t think that we have the capacity to understand how the universe works right now. And I like it that way. I like that it’s this vast, unknown idea. I don’t know how much fate plays a part in everyday life but I do think that it exists. 

I believe that every person who has ever or will ever exist has an impact on the world and the future and changes it in some small (or big) way. And I think it’s important for everyone to believe in some kind of force larger than themselves, because if not, it’s easy to become overwhelmed by how tiny we are in the grand scheme of the universe. We all need to feel like we have a purpose in order to continue living and making the most of our time while we’re here. Some people believe in a god and an afterlife and some people believe in karma and fate. Some people believe in the power and mystery of science and some people believe in reincarnation. And all of those things are fine. Whatever you do, don’t let your beliefs be decided by someone else, whether it be your parents or a college professor or a friend. Make up your own mind and believe whatever feels right to you. 

“The universe is big. It’s vast and complicated and ridiculous and sometimes, very rarely, impossible things just happen and we call them miracles.” -The Doctor, Doctor Who

Leave a Reply

