New Goals!

I’m the kind of person who needs to constantly change my goals if I’m going to stick to them. A few weeks ago I set a bunch of goals and ended up following through with most of them for the whole week. I think writing them down here helped me stay accountable and made me more successful. So here are a few goals, some short term and some long term, to keep me motivated and moving forward. 

1. Blog every day. I was doing this for a while but I got busy and lazy. Maggie and I are starting a new 30 day challenge on March 1st, another one that we’re writing ourselves, so that will help me with this goal. But I don’t want to only be doing the challenge prompts.

2. Listen to more good music. It’s been so long since I’ve taken the time to look for good music. I was all about that in middle school and high school. I spent most of my time outside of school listening to and looking for new music. I was the friend people came to when they wanted to add new artists and bands to their iPods (or mp3 players. old school). I know I’ll never get back to where I was then, but I’d like to get back some of my love for good music back. 

3. Go to bed before 11:30pm and wake up before 11am. I did this one last time and it was really good for me, I could tell that it helped me feel better and I lost more weight because I was eating breakfast every morning, kickstarting my metabolism. It’s just really difficult because I don’t like sleeping at normal hours. And that means I have 27 minutes to get to bed. Boo.

4. Yoga! I want to start doing yoga daily, even if it’s just for 5-10 minutes. 

5. Start writing a novel. Ok, so this clearly isn’t a one-week, start small kind of goal. But I’ve been writing more lately and haven’t been able to finish anything. Every time I go to write, I start one something new. I want to stick to one thing for a while, and it’s a novel so I won’t have to worry about finishing it anytime soon. Finishing a piece is always the hardest part for me. The rules for this goal is that it doesn’t have to be perfect. It doesn’t even have to be good. I just have to keep going. Keep adding to it. If nothing else, it will teach me endurance. I know that I can do this, because in high school I started writing one and I wrote through my classes rather than paying attention (hence my low GPA). I only got about 65 pages in, but it was the longest thing I’ve ever written, and yes, it sucks. But I kept going. That’s what this goal is all about. 

Well now I have 5 minutes to get to bed. Maybe I’ll start the bedtime thing tomorrow night. I’m going to try the yoga thing and be in bed by midnight. Wish me luck! And good luck to you guys with keeping all of your goals. If you don’t have any, make some! Even if you don’t keep them all, it’s a good push in the right direction. 

One thought on “New Goals!

  1. Yoga is a tricky beast. Once you give it 15min of your day, it becomes greedy and wants more and more – and then you end up dedicating 2 hours daily, phone off, TV off, bliss ON :))

Leave a Reply

