Happy February 7th

I always get a bit nostalgic on February 7th. It was a big deal for me 6 years ago. I fell for someone and my whole world began to change. I’ve said many times that I don’t believe I’ve ever been in love, but back then, I definitely thought I was. This person changed me, helped me become who I am today, and I’ll never forget that. February 7th isn’t that important of a date, but it’s become a sort of symbol in my life and I always make sure to think back and be thankful for everything Jessie did for me and how happy I was during those nine months. 

Every year since we lost contact, I’ve thought about talking to Jessie, but have always decided against it. I know that it’d be awkward and it would serve no purpose. It’s a mature decision for me that I wouldn’t be making had I not met her and gone through all that. Yes, her. I was trying to write this without pronouns. Oh well. I was dumb and childish back then and I know most 16/17 year olds are, but I attribute my growing up to her. I’m sure everyone has that, a person or situation that caused/helped them to grow up and mature. She was mine. She was the first person I ever sent a text message to. I feel so old thinking about that. 

This post doesn’t have much of a point, I just wanted to acknowledge the importance of today and to have a sentimental, nostalgic moment. This day makes me really happy, but it didn’t always. For at least two years after I cried and spent most of Feb. 7th in bed watching bad romantic comedies. I know because I blogged about it on LiveJournal and I just went back to look at those posts. It’s a really different feeling, being able to feel happy about someone who touched my life, hurt me and is no longer apart of me. But she’ll always be a big part of who I was and who I became. Sorry this is so cheesy but it’s close to Valentine’s Day so cheesy posts are allowed, right? 

Leave a Reply

