30 Day Challenge: Day 16

16. We’re all a little bit masochistic when it comes to music. What are the 5 songs that never fail to make you sad but you listen to anyway?

1. If You Wanted a Song Written About You, All You Had to do Was Ask- Mayday Parade. This is the ultimate cathartic breakup song. Seriously, if you’ve just gotten out of a relationship and you’re pissed or upset, give it a listen. I like to call it a “fuck you” song. 

2. Chances- Athlete. If you’re a Doctor Who fan, you may know why this song does it for me. It plays during the Van Gogh episode (my absolute favorite) and every time I hear the song I picture what’s happening during the episode and I just cry. Too many feels. 

3. Painting Flowers- All Time Low. Because it reminds me of the saddest night that I’ve had, probably in years. I was in a cabin in Kentucky and someone (yes, a guy) said something to me and I just lost it. I ended up sobbing for hours, the ugliest of the ugly sobbing, where you’re blubbering and it’s literally impossible to be quiet, and listening to this song on repeat. I listened to it almost the entire car ride home the next day, too. It was ridiculous and cathartic and beautiful and while it felt like the worst night ever, looking back, I love how hard I let myself feel that night. And I wrote, inspired and uninhibited, on notepad on my phone in the dark. Also, it was raining. As a writer, I live for those passionate moments that are so completely full of real emotion. So when I listen to this song, I always think of that night. 

4. You Could Be Happy- Snow Patrol. So much history with this song. I actually wrote a paper for my Engl 1100 class about the song and during peer editing, it made one of the girls in my group cry. Only a little, she wasn’t full on sobbing in Bate 2021 (I don’t really remember the classroom number). But it still felt like an accomplishment to me. Anyway, the song has ties to an ex (go figure), Alex. 

5. For this one I’m combining Intensity in Ten Cities- Chiodos and You Do, You Don’t- The Friday Night Boys because I can. They’re similar and get to me for the same reasons. “I’m not the one that you want, I’ll only let you down, and I’m pretty sure that you’ve caught on.” / “I’m letting you down, you were just hiding it so well. You’re giving me no sign, no interest, you don’t really want this, you don’t really want this right now.”

Here have a live version of You Do, You Don’t. It’s making me emotional now just because early high school nostalgia and feels. Starts at :53. 

What songs give you guys a bad case of the feels? 

2 thoughts on “30 Day Challenge: Day 16

Leave a Reply

