30 Day Challenge: Day 8

8. Imagine how your life would be different if a particular significant moment/detail in your life was altered or never happened.

This is a pretty easy one and it’s going to be very similar to Brittany’s. When I was in high school, I never thought about college. No one in my family had ever been to college so I never heard stories about what it was like and I honestly didn’t think I would go. It didn’t seem like a real place, like a place where people like me actually went. Everyone in my family got jobs right out of high school. But that wasn’t something I thought about either. I had no career aspirations. I just knew that the one thing I was passionate about, the one thing I loved and was actually somewhat good at, was writing. I generally didn’t care about the future and was one of those people who couldn’t imagine life after high school. When you’re in high school it seems like it’s going to last forever and that you’re going to be young forever. I was very naive. People would ask me if I was planning on going to college and my parents would answer for me, saying yes, she is. But I hadn’t applied anywhere during my senior year and they were starting to worry. 

Finally, I began looking into college a bit. Not much at all, and mainly only because as a senior I kept having meetings with the school counselor and class periods spent creating CFNC accounts and taking “What should I major in?” quizzes. I soon realized that application deadlines were coming up and I ended up applying to ECU and App State. I applied to App because I love the mountains and ECU because I heard that the only thing you need to get in is a pulse. Turns out, that was true. I didn’t get into App but I didn’t really expect to because my grades were abysmal. My GPA was embarrassing because I’m generally smart. I didn’t even know my GPA until senior year because I didn’t bother to check and honestly didn’t care. Then, amazingly, I got my acceptance letter to ECU. I was pretty shocked, but happy. I had no idea what to expect going in because, again, I had no frame of reference because no one I knew had been to college. I went in completely blind and fell in love. I actually started trying in school, studying, reading, doing my work. It felt good. I’m not going to say that I did poorly in high school because I “wasn’t challenged enough” or whatever. I was just apathetic and never thought about the future. 

Which leads me to today’s challenge. If I hadn’t applied to ECU and I hadn’t gotten in and actually gone, I’d be a completely different person. I wouldn’t be as smart, as well-read, as thoughtful and independent as I am. In college I really learned to think for myself. I learned a lot, but that was the biggest life lesson that I’ll carry with me throughout my life. I lost my religion and created my own. I became more outspoken and I’m more apt to fight for what I believe in. I made some lifelong friends who I may be apart from now, but who will always mean the world to me. If I hadn’t gone to college, I’d probably be working at a job I hate forever. I wouldn’t have formed the dreams and aspirations that I have now. I’d still be that apathetic little girl, unhappy and without a plan. I’m so thankful for the way my life has turned out and I can’t wait to see where it takes me next. 

Leave a Reply

