30 Day Challenge: Day 5

5. List 5 things you wish people knew about you without having to explain the, oftentimes lengthy, story behind them.
From: http://www.thesitsgirls.com/blogging/january-writing-prompts/

This post may be short because I just saw HER and that’s what I really want to be blogging about because flkdsjfls perfect. So except that soon! 

  1. I wish that people already knew that I don’t drive. It’s so annoying to explain and it’s embarrassing. Most embarrassing facts about yourself you can keep secret, but this is something that people will find out eventually. “You should just get your license” is the most annoying thing someone can tell me. Like you don’t think I fucking know that I need to get my license and drive like a normal 22 year old? If it were as easy as going to the DMV and taking the test and getting my license, I’d do it in a heartbeat. But driving is more than just something that I dislike. It’s a phobia. It causes me intense anxiety and I can’t handle it. It seems irrational to other people because “driving is so easy.” That’s another phrase that makes me want to punch people in the face. I could say “writing a full length play is so easy! You should all sit down right now and write a 50 page play for funsies!” But I won’t do that because I’m not a douche bag and I know that what comes easy for me doesn’t always come easy for other people. Maybe I lied about this being a short post. Sorry this just really annoys me. 
  2. I wish that people already knew that I did not get a degree in English so that I could teach high school. I’ve been asked hundreds (I promise you this isn’t an exaggeration) of times when I say I majored in English, “So you’re going to teach?” And I try to be understanding because I know that not everyone is aware that there are a plethora of things I can do with an English major. But it’s so annoying to hear that constantly. And lately I’ve been considering grad school for creative writing (more than just considering, actually) and I may want to teach creative writing at the community college or university level. But when I get asked “So you’re going to teach?” that’s not what they mean, so I say no. At one point I thought about teaching high school but decided against it. It’s just not for me. Rambling again, sorry. 
  3. I guess another thing I wish people knew when they met me is how bad I am at relationships and commitment. I can’t count how many times I’ve become friends with a guy who then developed feelings for me and tried to date me. I wish they just instinctively knew that I’m kind of messed up. I literally warned my ex that I was crazy and gave him examples of how I’ve hurt people who try to get close to me and his response was “challenge accepted.” And yeah, he thought that he succeeded in the challenge, but clearly not. Thinking back on it, it was sort of a Taming of the Shrew kind of situation, like he thought he could change and fix me wow why did I date him? (Don’t worry, this won’t be another ex rant, I’m done now.)
  4. I’m running out of ideas for this post. Hmm. Well this is something small, but I fall “in love” a lot. Like. On a daily basis. And I develop crushes like nobody’s business. Hardcore crushes. When I crush, I really crush. So I guess that I wish people knew, without me telling them, that when I “fall in love” I’m not actually in love, nor do I believe I am. I just have a lot of feelings and I express those feelings through hyperboles. If people understood the way that I crush, maybe they wouldn’t try to get me to talk to my crushes or make something happen with them. Because it’s really not that serious. Even if I’m to the point where I cry when my crush speaks to me (true story) and am Internet stalking them on an hourly basis (and sometimes casually showing up places I know they’ll be), it doesn’t mean that much. Because there will be another one of them soon after it fades. 
  5. Uhm. I’m not so good at first impressions. I can be awkward and shy and quiet and weird and say really dumb things when I first meet a person. In high school I was described as “nice” and “quiet.” I’m not quiet, and I’m often times not very nice either. I just wish that people knew that who I am when they first meet me is not me, at all. I open up. I become loud and outspoken and I laugh until I cry and I can be pretty funny (at least I think so). So yeah that’s it. Time to write about HER! 
One thought on “30 Day Challenge: Day 5

  1. Hi Kris! I found your blog because of a trackback on the SITS girls site, and I had to comment on the driving thing because I am in the same boat. I used to drive fine, but after an accident I had a year or so ago, for some reason I can’t get back into it the way I used to. The anxiety has been so intense ever since, I’ll literally start crying while driving because I’m so afraid. It’s a crazy thing, but I’m working through it, and I can completely relate when you say it’s embarrassing to talk about. I have trouble admitting it to people too. :/ Also, I’m an English major too! And I love writing! Suffice to say, I’ll be back 🙂 Nice to meet you virtually!

Leave a Reply

