30 Day Challenge: Day 3

3. Before meeting “The One,” the average woman will “kiss 15 men, enjoy two long-term relationships, have her heart broken twice…suffer four disaster dates, be stood up once, have been in love twice, lived with one ex-partner and had four one night stands.” According to this study, how close are you to finding “The One”?
Source: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/picturegalleries/howaboutthat/10545810/Average-woman-will-kiss-15-men-and-be-heartbroken-twice-before-meeting-The-One-study-reveals.html

I’ve kissed a lot of frogs over the years. And I mean a lot. My friends make jokes about me from time to time because of my tendency to get drunk at parties and make out with almost everyone there. I’m just friendly. I enjoy intimacy, whether it be holding hands, cuddling, and of course, kissing. So in the kissing department, I’ve surpassed 15 men- probably even 15 women. When it comes to love and long-term relationships, though, I’m not even close. I haven’t been in love once, much less twice, and my longest and most recent relationship only lasted 2 months. That being said, I’ve clearly never lived with a partner. I do believe I’ve had my heart broken twice by people who were never really mine. But I don’t believe I was ever in love with them.

I’ve been on at least four disaster dates, but then again, I’ve never been on a date that I felt went well except maybe with my ex, but we didn’t exactly go on dates. I don’t count going to the Tipsy Teapot and then back to my apartment a date. I’ve been on dates where I cried when I got back to my dorm because they were so bad. I’m not sure if it’s because I was on dates with the wrong people or because I’m just not cut out for actual dates; they trigger my anxiety. I’ve never been stood up, and I’ve never had a one night stand. So I’ve experienced 3 out of the 8 things mentioned. Which means I’m nearly half way to finding “The One”, according to this study. I started dating at 15, 8 years ago, but am moving much faster in relationships now than I did when I was in my teens, so I estimate that if this study were true, I’d find “The One” in the next 4-6 years.

That being said, I don’t think that there’s an exact formula when it comes to dating because everyone is different. And I don’t exactly believe in “The One.” But it’s cool to think about finding love as a journey and knowing that it’s okay to kiss a frog every now and then.

Leave a Reply

