Alone

There is something so beautiful about being alone that I have just been loving lately. Graduating from college meant moving back home and away from all of my friends. No more impromptu GNOs, no more late nights spent drinking and making bad decisions, no more spur of the moment lunch dates, no one to kiss, no one to hold hands with, just me, occasionally doing things with my parents but mostly spending a lot of time in my room alone. This is the life that terrified me a few months ago. But I feel wholly and completely myself. Everyone alters their personality slightly depending on the company they keep, but I haven’t needed to do that much lately, except around my super conservative parents. I have been thinking a lot, focusing on my own wants and needs and aspirations. Now if I could only direct that focus to my writing.

What I’m trying to say is that being alone is what I need right now. It’s like a sabbatical from all the clutter that normally surrounds me. I plan to make the most of this time in my life so that when I look back on it, I won’t see it as a waste or a lull in between college and career. There’s so much I want to do and if I accomplish even one of those things then I’ve done well and will be happy.

I don’t want to be alone forever, but I can be tonight. I don’t wanna be alone forever, but I love gypsy life.

Leave a Reply

