2013 Year in Review

2013 has been an amazing year for me. It was a year of firsts. I got my first job. Had my first serious boyfriend. Lost my virginity. Graduated from college. I got just a little bit closer to discovering who I am and what I want out of life. I did a lot of brave things this year. I also did a lot of stupid things. But I can honestly say that I don’t regret a single thing. I needed to make certain mistakes so that I didn’t spend my life wondering “what if?” The end of this year feels like the end of a chapter in my life. A huge chapter. I will no longer be classified as a student, at least until (and if) I go to graduate school. As of now, I am just a person. And that feels really strange. But I like it. I feel like there’s a big empty space here for me to define myself. I can do anything I want with it. The title I’m really going to strive for, though, is writer. I’m attempting to write my second play. I have one scene and find myself blocked, but I know it won’t last long. This story is too important not to tell. I know that there are endless possibilities and I’m trying to keep an open mind. I want to allow this story to unfold on its own now that I don’t have school deadlines to worry about. Writing for a class isn’t the same as writing because you want to. Sure, I’ll have to push myself harder because I won’t have the pressure of a deadline, but not having to rush to get things done means they’ll be better. I can focus on making every sentence what I want it to be rather than forcing out random strings of words because I have to. I’m thinking about posting the first scene of my play here soon.

On an unrelated note, I saw AMERICAN HUSTLE today. The acting and character development was incredible. It was a dazzling and enticing film all together. The plot felt sloppy at times but the underlying themes of power and ambition and the American Dream really shined. It felt a bit long, but I enjoy long movies, I like to be caught in the world of the film for as long as possible (if the film is good, that is).

I really liked my makeup today.

Image

That’s all for now. I expect to post at least one more time before it’s officially 2014, but no promises.

2 thoughts on “2013 Year in Review

Leave a Reply

